Gluten-free crepes

I ran out of homemade GF flour mix. All of them. I had four containers, all slightly different recipes, one each for four different recipe sources (three cookbooks, one online site). I wrote the ingredients for each mix right on the container, for ease of refilling, but I just haven’t got around to the refilling part.

I haven’t made any GF bread for a month (I’m still new enough to want to follow a tried and true recipe, and these involve one of those GF flour mixes I mentioned above), but I have been making other things, like apple crisp, and crepes. These are simple enough that I can just use my pre-GF recipes, substitute a mix of GF flour/starch, and come up with fairly decent results.

For example, crepes:

4 eggs
1 cup milk or milk substitute
1 cup GF flour mix
1/2 tsp. salt

Whisk eggs until well beaten, add milk and whisk again, sift in flour mix and salt, beat well. (These are not like pancakes, which you want to leave lumpy. You want the batter to end up fairly smooth.)

Let batter sit while you heat up your pan. I find it thickens while sitting. I guess the flour absorbs some of the liquid.

I use a heavy cast-iron skillet, well-seasoned. When it’s hot (a drop of water will dance on the surface) I add a large dollop of coconut oil, and that’s usually enough to cook the whole batch of crepes without having to add more.

Add about a half-cup of batter to the pan (a ladle works well for this). As it starts to harden from cooking, lift the edges to loosen and check for doneness. This is the trickiest part, figuring out just when to flip. Our first crepe is almost always a mess, but the rest get progressively prettier.

Once you can flip it, turn it over and cook briefly on the other side. Cooking time varies, depending on how hot your pan is, and whether you like your crepes light in color or delicately browned.

Repeat until you’ve used up the batter. If the crepes begin to stick, add more oil (or butter–we used to use butter, and it added a nice buttery taste, but we prefer coconut oil) to the pan.

I try to make a stack of crepes and then call my hungry hordes to eat, but sometimes the crepes end up going right from the pan to a hovering individual’s plate.

Quick GF Flour Mix

My quickly cobbled-together flour mix, that works well for crepes, contains approximately:

1/2 cup rice flour (white or brown seem to work about the same)
1/4 cup tapioca or corn starch
1/4 cup sorghum flour

Milk Substitutes

Almond, rice, or coconut milk work well in this recipe. Crepes are something like pancakes, and I’ve even substituted apple juice in my pancake recipe when I was out of milk of any kind.

From plain to oo-la-la

We like to eat our crepes the English way. At least I’ve been told it’s the English way, or even the French way. Anyhow, sprinkle with powdered sugar (we shake it through a sieve onto the crepe, to eliminate lumps) and squeeze lemon juice all over. Roll up the crepe and give it another little powdering of sugar. Elegant!

(Eldest, who doesn’t care for the lemon-sugar combination on crepes, prefers to deck hers with applesauce.)

This recipe multiplies well. Just keep to the same proportions: 2 eggs to half a cup of milk and half a cup of flour, and a little salt to bring out the flavor. This recipe (with 4 eggs, I mean) makes almost enough crepes for two hungry teens. To feed our whole family, I have to double it, sometimes (if everyone’s really hungry) make two-and-a-half or a triple recipe.

As my mom, a loyal French Chef fan, would say, Bon appetite!

2 responses to “Gluten-free crepes

  1. Thanks for sharing that your recipe works gluten-free. Lately my oldest has been making crepes for everyone for lunch (filled w/ ham and cheese). I’ve always scrounged for something else because I wasn’t sure how they’d work gluten-free.

    • homesweethomeschool

      You’re welcome! I know a GF mom who uses crepes (she calls them flour tortillas but it’s pretty much the same recipe I use) for almost all her bread needs. Crepes are quick and easy to stir up, compared to baking GF bread, for sure!

Leave a Reply

