Back from vacation!

I ought to have scheduled posts for each day we were gone, but I didn’t think that far ahead… Sorry!

Anyhow, it was a lovely week away from the usual routine. We had out-of-town relations staying with us. We rented a larger car so we could all fit, and proceeded to drive down to see the Redwoods (stopping at antique shops along the way) and then back up the Coast. Incredible!

The weather was perfect, if a little bizarre at one stop. I have no idea where this was, but it was somewhere on the southern Oregon coast, a little rest area/pull-in with grassy dunes between 101 and the ocean. The wind was blowing at a steady rate, and gusting higher. Middlest jumped into the air and almost got blown away! Standing in the shelter of a dune was windy, but climbing more than halfway up gave you a real sandblasted feeling. We never did get to where the waves were breaking…

For several hours afterward, in the car, resuming our drive, you’d hear occasional exclamations like, “I’ve got sand in my hair! It’s plastered to my scalp!” or “I’ve got sand under my waistband!” …or somewhere else. We were coated with sand (under our clothes) even though we’d worn jackets. The sand just blasted its way in.

If I can figure out how to transfer pics from the new camera I’ll upload some here.

What special thing will you do this summer? Or have you already done something special?

Leave a Reply

