Been on vacation…

…more or less. It was one of those “vacations” that you need a vacation to recover from!

We had three days of Outdoor School (ODS) last week.

I had never heard of Outdoor School until we moved here, so perhaps it’s a local phenomenon. Outdoor School is a program in the schools, a kind of school-camping for sixth graders.

We’ve been aware of several ODS programs for home educators in our region. We’ve had the privilege of participating in the W.I.S.E. Science program. W.I.S.E. stands for “Wisdom in Science Education.” Do you know where wisdom begins?

Here’s a link with more on the W.I.S.E. version of Outdoor School:
Outdoor School

2 responses to “Been on vacation…

  1. I had a 5 day Outdoor School when I lived in New York and found it was required in Portland after my family moved here. Maybe it’s a coastal phenomenon? I loved it. When I was looking for a similar experience for my kids I found http://www.homeschoolsciencecamp.com . They do a summer camp expressly for homeschoolers to give an outdoor school experience. Great Christian folk, great camp. My girls loved it! šŸ˜€

    Hope you recover well from your vacation!

  2. Thanks for hosting Edna! Following you from the crew!

Leave a Reply

