Chili update

The chili turned out pretty well, as a matter of fact.

I remember now, that chili powder intensifies in flavor with long cooking. Know how I know?

I remember making chili one time. I added the chili powder, tasted the chili, thought maybe the chili powder had lost its oomph, so I added more. Tasted… and added more. And maybe more.

After the chili had simmered, I tasted it again, and it was CHILI!!!

(Not chili, which is what my family eats.)

It must have been acceptable, as the whole crockpot was cleaned out at the shared meal. I had a bowl, myself, and found it a little sweet to my taste. Must have been the tomato paste. Next time I’ll drain the beans and not have to add the tomato paste.

I was going to take a picture of a bowl of the chili, topped with shredded cheddar, chopped onions, and sour cream, except that there wasn’t so much as a bowlful left.

Next time: the recipe for “Kid Friendly Chili”!

Leave a Reply

