Update

The Beauty Queen is back from the vet, minus a toe.

The cancer had spread further than they thought. Up the leg — they couldn’t get it all.

Awaiting test results to see if taking off the whole leg will buy her more time. How much more time? Perhaps a year.

*sigh*

Dogs. They live such short lives. And it appears hers will be much shorter than it might have been.

Yet they give so much, in that short span that they are allowed. Who else do I know who will seek me out, just to snuggle her head against me and make me feel like the most important person in the world? Who else insists on following me into the bathroom whenever I go in there, for any reason (“To protect you from the drain monster, of course” as Middlest says)? Well, when I had a two-year-old, I had someone who followed me everywhere.

But it’s been a long time since I’ve had a two-legged two-year-old.

Guess you could call the Beauty Queen a perpetual toddler. Without the tantrums. Vessel of unconditional love, always overjoyed to greet you, to snuggle, never too busy to spend some quality time together.

We humans could learn a thing or two from our dogs.

One response to “Update

  1. I hope the running to and fro to the vet is slowing down soon. Thanks for stopping by and checking out the Reboot Challenge. If you want to join in, you don’t have to set goals in the same categories or nearly as many as I have. I want it to be customized to each person’s needs. That’s why I didn’t set up specific goals for everyone to follow. Even if you have a goal or two you can join in.

Leave a Reply

