Worry, or, Doing what you can

Worry can be so debilitating. Take our family, for example.

The Beauty Queen has been diagnosed with toe cancer.  (Granted, in the picture she’s relaxing, not primping for a pageant, but believe me, she’s a Beauty Queen through and through.)

Toe cancer doesn’t seem to be all that unusual for Giant Schnauzers, especially if they come from puppy mills (which we suspect might be the origin of our sweetie-pie-rescue-dog).

Still, the news hit us with all the numbing, crushing impact of a cement truck, especially when we got the vet’s estimate for what it would cost to take off the toe.

We’re exploring options, but it’s not pretty. Gut the budget, put her down, surrender her to the Humane Society (with no option of re-adopting her ourselves, but at least the surgery happens). We’re still waiting on word from another vet as to how much it would cost at their clinic.

As a rescue dog, she’s already been abandoned by one family. I’m not sure we could bear to do that to her, ourselves.

The girls (self included, on and off) have been moping and weepy for three days now, and the dog has had lots of extra hugs and cuddles and treats and grooming. Sleep has been elusive.

This morning I’m in a fog, and feel like I’m slogging through molasses. I’m letting the girls sleep in a bit, as they haven’t been sleeping well either.

It’s time to pour a cup of coffee and settle down with the Schnoz and my Bible and remind myself of a few Truths.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

— Philippians 4:6-7

8 responses to “Worry, or, Doing what you can

  1. Hi fellow home schooler! I’m so sorry to hear about your dog. What a tough decision. I’ll be praying for you.

    Just wanted to say thanks for the tip on checking the internal temperature of gf bread. I’ll definitely be giving that a try and passing it along to my readers.

    • homesweethomeschool

      Thanks!

      We got good news today. Tests show that the cancer hasn’t spread yet. That makes things easier.

      Hope the temperature thing (baking GF bread) works as well for you as it has for us!

      I love your blog. Keep up the good work!

  2. Hi, I’m a fellow crewmate, and a fellow schnauzer lover. I’m sorry to hear about your pup’s toe, let me tell you our Iris (mix of mini/standard) had the same thing happen, and before it spread we had the toe amputated. Our vet is quite inexpensive (maybe its where we live)-we thought it would be way to expensive but it was under $100 and the recovery was a breeze. Is that an option for you?? I’ve always wanted a giant schnauzer, but we just got a new puppy and she is a mix of toy/mini (dad toy mom mini). Good luck, feel free to email me if you have questions about our experience.

    • homesweethomeschool

      Belated thanks, Athena. I am so grateful to the rescue organization, that ended up helping us with the vet bills. Schnauzers are amazing dogs, aren’t they?

  3. Hope it worked out well. This might interest you, 2 pages total:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/giant_schnauzer/page2/

    • homesweethomeschool

      Oh, Lili was a beautiful Schnauzer! Thank you for your good wishes. We had the toe taken off and she’s doing well.

  4. Hope you did have the toe amputated. My Giant had same thing and she did well for over 4 years after the procedure. Was very active as seen here including Xray in case of interest:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/giant_schnauzer/

    • homesweethomeschool

      Thank you, Harry. I’m sorry, I hadn’t checked the blog in awhile, but I’m back. Your Lili was a gorgeous dog, and we enjoyed seeing them. Zoe is the first Giant Schnauzer we’ve ever had, but she’s quickly moved to the top of the “favorite dog” list.

Leave a Reply

