Great Book!

We are currently reading aloud from The Horsemasters by Don Stanford. The book is out of print, and I bought it a few years ago, a battered paperback copy for about $12 which seemed exorbitant at the time, but now they’re going for much more.

If you can find this book at your library, or through Inter-Library Loan, I’d advise you to check it out! It’s a story about a group of young people (high school graduates on their way to college, and older) who are in a summer-long study program to gain credentials in horsemanship and stable management. You learn a lot about horses and teamwork in the reading. It’s a good story, published in the 50s, and reflects the moral standards of the times.

The book was the basis for a Disney movie of the same title, starring Annette Funicello, but as is so often, the movie bears only a passing resemblance to the book. The book is much, much better than the movie.

Edited to add: We were recently able to acquire a hardcover copy for about what we paid for our battered paperback some years ago. Sometimes the timing is just right. Right now hardcover copies are going for $50 at Alibris and even more at Amazon, but we paid about $15 for ours a few weeks ago. Yes, I know that means we might be able to make a profit if we turned around and sold our newly acquired copy, but it might stir up a hornets nest hereabouts.

One response to “Great Book!

  1. I have this book! I have a paperback copy. I got it years ago when I was a horse crazy girl. Now I am a horse crazy mom and it is still on my shelf. I really thought a lot of it when I read it and have recommended it many times. I will have to pull it off the shelf and reread it soon.

    Blessings to you.

    Heather

Leave a Reply

