TOS Crew: Terrestria Chronicles

One of the fun things about being on the TOS Crew is receiving new books to read. Members of the TOS Crew each received two books from an exciting series, the Terrestria Chronicles, or the companion series, Tales of Terrestria.

Our family received books four and five of the Terrestria Chronicles. Though this series is supposed to be read in order, there are enough clues to happenings in previous books that we were able to read and appreciate the action in the books we read, without having read the first three books.

In The Crown of Kuros (book 4), young prince Josiah’s selfishness results in the theft of a valuable artifact from the King’s treasury.

Then in book 5, The Dragon’s Egg, Josiah disobeys a serious edict of the King, and must face the consequences…

I have to admit that when I first sat down to read, I was put off by the character names. You see, this series is an allegory, and like Pilgrim’s Progress and Hinds’ Feet in High Places, many characters have descriptive names, like Sir Faithful, and Sir Dither. Usually I find this enough of a distraction that I have trouble getting into a story, but the Terrestria Chronicles books were so vividly written that I soon was pulled along by events in the plot.

The hero of the books, at least the two we read, and I suspect the rest of the series as well, is a young prince named Josiah. Josiah was not always a prince. He was once a slave to the wicked Argamor, but King Emmanuel came and not only set him free, but adopted him as a son. In each of the two books we read, a mistake by Josiah leads to a kingdom-threatening situation, and he is the one who must rectify his error.

(Middlest, after reading both books, said she liked the action, but found the language a little flowery — read that “lots of adverbs and adjectives” — for her taste. She also said she suspected that the whole series was about Josiah messing up and making things right again, and she dearly wished that Selwyn, a fellow prince, would occasionally be the one to stumble and need help.)

Being a Christian allegory, there are a lot of Biblical references that you’ll probably recognize, and life truths (after all, these truths are taken from scripture, which makes them true and applicable to life). The tone is never preachy, though Middlest found book 5 a little too painfully predictable for her taste. (“For man is born to trouble as sparks fly upward,” Job 5:7)

In addition to an exciting story told in a medieval setting of knights and ladies, encouragement in the Christian walk, and life lessons for believers young and old, each book contains a glossary of medieval terms and a page of information about castles.

Individual books from the series are available for $7.99, or you can purchase the whole series for $47.99. A spiral-bound study guide is also available for $5.99, with discussion questions for all the books, and a free answer key available for download from the author’s website. You can also find free coloring pages there.

In summary, we enjoyed reading these books, even when they seemed a little predictable to our 14yo’s sensibilities. The books are designed for ages 10 and up, but could be read aloud with younger children. The lessons set forth in the stories we read are sound and based in scripture.

To read more TOS Crew reviews of these books, click here.

Disclaimer: Members of the TOS Crew were given two books for review purposes. No monetary compensation was involved. Opinions expressed reflect our family’s views.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s