*sigh*

What is it about treats? Seems as if every time we take the girls to see a CYT play, they end up fighting in the back seat on the way home. Today was no exception.

They apologized, as they always do, after a scolding, but really, I’m thinking I don’t want to go through this yet again.

Do your “dear” children act badly during/after special treats? Is there something about treating them to some out-of-the-ordinary-course-of-events special time that feeds the selfish side of their natures?

Got any suggestions? (Other than totally giving up treats. Believe me, I’m tempted. No more CYT plays, no more Oaks Amusement Park, no more movies… Let’s become Spartans. Or…?)

One response to “*sigh*

  1. Sometimes once we get in the car I have to lead them into gratefulness. I get everyone buckled in and start us down the road and when I sense a brief silence I say, “Thanks for taking us to ______ , Mom.” And they usually chime in after me with their own “Thank you.”

    Sometimes this helps reset them. Other times, not so much.

    (i.e. I refuse to take Jake bowling ever again…)

Leave a Reply

